Presidency of the Council




The Presidency of the Council of the European Union is held by a different Member State every six months. Each Member State that carries out that responsibility has the task of promoting the legislative initiatives of the European Union.

The presidency chairs meetings of the different Council configurations (with the exception of the Foreign Affairs Council) and the Council's preparatory bodies, which include permanent committees such as the Permanent Representatives Committee (COREPER), and working parties and committees dealing with very specific subjects.

The Council meetings take place in Brussels or Luxembourg; informal ministerial meetings are held in the member state holding the rotating presidency.

The presidency ensures that discussions are conducted properly and that the Council's rules of procedure and working methods are correctly applied, with a view to achieving an alignment and facilitating compromises between the opposing positions held by the member states.

The presidency represents the Council in relations with the other EU institutions, particularly with the Commission and the European Parliament. Its role is to try and reach an agreement on legislative files through trialogues, informal negotiation meetings and Conciliation Committee meetings.

This site uses cookies to enhance your experience. When you continue to browse, you are accepting You are using an outdated browser. Please, upgrade your browser to improve your experience.